Contacts For District Approval and Questions

Your first contact for questions should be your Troop's Eagle Advisor, or your Scoutmaster.  If you have questions that they can not answer, or when you are ready for the approval of the District Advancement Committee (the last signature after you have signatures from the organization, your Scoutmaster, and your unit committee), contact the people below. Note that each district has multiple people, depending on where your troop is located. If you leave a message, be sure to leave your name, troop, phone number, and why you are calling. You must have a parent with you on any phone call and must copy another leader or parent on all emails.

Diamond Rock District

This district covers the area served by the Tredyffrin-Easttown, Phoenixville, Great Valley, and West Chester Area School Districts; and Devereux Schools.

District Advancement Chair: Hal Craig,

West Chester Area School District troops 6, 14, 93, 153, and 222; contact: Tom Stalnaker, 610-430-8630 or send questions to Call by phone to schedule appointments.

West Chester Area School District troops 21, 65, and 105; contact: Tom Iivari, 610-431-1535,

All others contact: Hal Craig,

Horseshoe Trail District

This district covers the area served by the Downingtown, Coatesville, Owen J. Roberts, Twin Valley, and Spring-Ford School Districts.

District Advancement Chair: John McFadden,

For Eagle Scout project approvals contact:

    John McFadden,


Deliver complete Eagle package to either:

         District Advancement Chair: John McFadden,

    Eagle Board of Review Chair: Rich Coster,

Scoutmasters and/or Committee Chairmen schedule Eagle Scout Board of Review by contacting: John McFadden,

Octoraro District

This district covers the area served by the Kennett, Avon Grove, Oxford, Octorara, and Unionville-Chadds Ford School Districts, and the northwestern corner of Cecil County including the communities of Rising Sun and Conowingo.

District Advancement Chair: Tom Murphy, 717-529-6656,

Troops in Avon Grove School District contact: Joe van Loon, 484-667-3432,

Troops in Unionville-Chadds Ford and Kennett Area School Districts contact: Scott Dembek, 610-793-2269,

Troops in Octorara and Oxford School Districts and Scouts in Cecil County, Maryland contact: Tom Murphy, 717-529-6656,

Chester County Council

For issues that deal with the entire council, or for problems that do not get resolved at the district level.

     Council Advancement Chair: Charlie Myhre, 484-883-1582,

When your Scoutmaster is ready to take the application to the Council office for verification, if there are any questions contact:

     Council Registrar: Victoria Grabill, 610-696-2900 x126, 1 Scouting Way, Exton, PA 19341,

BSA Distinguished Conservation Service Awards

If you are interested in the BSA Distinguished Conservation Service Awards, or if you want to do an Eagle Scout Service Project that qualifies for a BSA Distinguished Conservation Service Award, contact: Tom Iivari, 610-431-1535,

Links to Pages Around This Web Site


If you have comments or questions about this website, send me an e-mail.

This web site is a work-in-progress.  If you find any mistakes, links that don't work, typos, or other inaccuracies, please let me know.  If you have any suggestions of additional material that would be helpful to Scouts in earning their Eagle rank, I would always appreciate your input (

Web page last updated 7/9/2024